Lemony breakfast and dessert

A house full of citrus curd is a good thing.

Which is, in itself, a good thing. Because after my festival of (free!!) citruses, I had quite a lot of lemon curd and lime and grapefruit curd in the fridge. Mr Gander raised his eyebrows and asked what I was going to do with it all.

I told him citrus curd works in mysterious ways.

First, lemon and lime/grapefruit curd cosied up to our yoghurt at breakfast. Then, there were coconut lemon tartlets. And lastly, lemon curd boogied with double cream in a quick semifreddo.

Lemons for breakfast, elevenses (yes, I was an avid reader of Tolkien) and dessert. Citrus curd gone in a trice. Mysterious indeed.

Mixing notes: I preferred Alice Medrich’s no-butter curd for stirring into my morning yoghurt. The clean, pure lime note in the butter-less curd really shone through, and made the yoghurt an even better wake-me-up. I think it would have been great stirred into the semifreddo, but there was none left by the evening.

Now I have ideas about panna cotta with a layer of butter-less curd …

Lemon curd and yoghurt

1. Stir lemon curd into thick Greek yoghurt. (Add honey to taste if you like.)

2. Think to oneself, if Campos coffee serves lemon curd and yoghurt, I could move in permanently.

Lemon curd semifreddo

(this is not a traditional semifreddo, which is made with a sabayon base and sometimes whipped cream or whipped eggwhite, but it was super easy and the result was tasty.)

1. Juice half a lemon and stir into lemon curd.

2. Stir double cream / thickened cream into lemon mixture. I like a 1:1 ratio. (Optional: add bits of finely diced candied lemon zest)

3. Freeze for at least 4 hours or until firm.

4. Remove from fridge 20 minutes before serving. (Optional: drizzle with dark chocolate ganache)

curd yoghurt 2
Tagged: , ,

Penny for your thoughts?

