Not quite World Cup: cashew & nutella candies

cashew-nutella-candy-06

There’s Brazil and World Cup fever in the air. Friends are flying over to Brazil to watch the matches, Brazil travel documentaries are all over the TV, and suddenly it’s all about those soups and snacks sold on Brazilian beaches.

Paçoca or pacoquinha is a peanut candy that is as Brazilian as you get. And no wonder, as it is supposed to taste a little like a Reese’s peanut cup! The peanut version of the candy was created during colonial Brazil, and the internet also tells me that there is a tradition of eating paçoca during lent or on Good Friday. As a bonus, because the candies are made using cassava / tapioca / manioc flour, these are also gluten free.

The basic ingredients are roasted peanuts, sugar, dulce de leche or condensed milk, and cassava or tapioca flour (though I’ve also seen recipes calling for biscuit crumbs or bread crumbs, which obviously may not be GF).

cashew-nutella-candy-01

I have wanted to make Brazilian peanut candies for a while. But, we never seem to have peanuts in the house, instead we are always overrun by cashews, almonds or walnuts. So, this candy had a makeover in the kitchen and emerged as not-quite-Brazilian cashew candies.

Roasted cashews replaced peanuts, nutella plus a spoonful of honey replaced dulce de leche, and we were ready to whiz and roll.

cashew-nutella-candy-09

And that’s all the steps it took – whiz in the food processor, and roll (or mould) the candies. I don’t think I’ve encountered an easier recipe before. The only note is the mixture seems to come together much more easily (so that it can be rolled into balls or pressed into moulds) when it’s made in the food processor, compared to being made in the traditional mortar and pestle.

I’ve seen pictures of the paçoca shaped like a log that is cut into sections, or pressed into a tray and then cut into squares. Instead of these traditional shapes, this was an opportunity for me to test out some miniature cookie cutters as candy moulds. I also sprinkled coconut powder and flaky chocolate over everything for an unexpectedly Christmas-y aesthetic. I think you could drizzle melted chocolate over these and that would be delicious too.

If you want the traditional recipe with peanuts, they are at the end of this post.

And before we eat it all of these candies, I’m bringing them to Angie’s Fiesta Friday 18, hosted by Mr Fitz@Cooking with Mr Fitz and Justine@Eclectic odds n sods.

cashew-nutella-candy-03

Not quite Paçoca or cashew & nutella candies

(an SG original adapted from sources like Not Quite Nigella and Flavours of Brazil)

Ingredients

1 1/2 cup roasted cashews (unsalted)
1 1/4 cup castor/granulated sugar
3/4 cup tapioca flour (which I think is also known as cassava flour) or manioc flour
a fat pinch of salt
1/4 cup nutella
2 tbsp honey
Optional: chocolate flakes and coconut powder (ie, the powder that can be reconstituted to make coconut milk, not coconut flour)

Method

1. In a food processor, whiz the cashews, sugar and tapioca flour together until very finely ground. Add salt, nutella and honey and whiz in the food processor until mixed thoroughly and the mixture stays in shape when pressed into a ball or other shape.

2. Press small amounts of the mixture into mini cookie cutters as though they are moulds, press down firmly on a plate or chopping board, before pushing the mixture through the cookie cutter so that it is unmoulded and retains its shape. Repeat.

3. Optionally, sprinkle the candies with coconut powder and chocolate flakes.

~~~

For the real Brazilian thing:

Paçoca de amendoim from About.com

Brazilian peanut candy from Pink Bites

Peanut paçoca from Flavours of Brazil

10 minute pacoquinha from Not Quite Nigella

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

41 thoughts on “Not quite World Cup: cashew & nutella candies

  1. simplyvegetarian777 31 May 2014 at 2:14 am Reply

    I am a big fan of these kind of good and easy recipes. Loving it saucy.

  2. DetoxMama 31 May 2014 at 2:16 am Reply

    Yum! Going to make a slightly adapted version of these. And yup, World Cup fever is happening in our house too!

  3. Alex 31 May 2014 at 2:43 am Reply

    A co-worker recently brought these into the office and they were delicious, I had previously never heard of them. Thanks for bringing these to the party!

  4. Mr Fitz 31 May 2014 at 2:47 am Reply

    I think I had the Brazil version in Rio.. stunning! Thanks for sharing these around at FF18! Bubbles?

  5. acasadisimi 31 May 2014 at 3:35 am Reply

    yummi!

  6. eclecticoddsnsods 31 May 2014 at 3:40 am Reply

    that looks really different i bet the texture is interesting? I have seen a lot of recipes with nutella in recently i could eat it until the cows come home actualy i ordered some more from ocado and they had run out!!!! Can you believe that? Looks deilsh and thank you for sharing, i hope your having a nice glass of bubbly and partying, Justine, co hosting with Mr Fritz x

  7. apuginthekitchen 31 May 2014 at 4:47 am Reply

    I had a Brazilian friend who made them, they are delicious. Love the nutella!!

  8. […] Saucy […]

  9. Amanda 31 May 2014 at 5:23 am Reply

    This is beautiful! I love Brazilian foods. I’m looking for tapioca flour in order to make some pao as well. I’d love to make these soon. Thanks for bringing Brazil to the blog! Love it.

  10. FireBonnet 31 May 2014 at 8:09 am Reply

    gosh these look good. I’m so glad this is a virtual party! A feast for the eyes and imagination and no lbs on the behind.

  11. thepaddingtonfoodie 31 May 2014 at 8:36 am Reply

    These look amazing Saucy. Always on the ball. Excuse the pun.

  12. Lori 31 May 2014 at 8:38 am Reply

    I can just imagine how tasty these are! Wow!

  13. Laura Weymouth 31 May 2014 at 11:09 am Reply

    Mmmmm I am going to have to try that recipe! My dad’s whole side of the family immigrated to Canada from Brazil, so my sister and I grew up eating all kinds of goodies our aunts and uncles would bring home after trips back to their motherland. Yummy!

  14. apsara 31 May 2014 at 11:47 am Reply

    this is so simple and healthy!

  15. Noony 31 May 2014 at 12:37 pm Reply

    Sounds absolutely delightful!

  16. chefjulianna 31 May 2014 at 1:22 pm Reply

    Oh so yum, Saucy! Ahh, now I have a huge craving for your candies! And, btw your photos are gorgeous. May I ask if you are still taking them with your phone? They are lovely!

  17. The Novice Gardener 31 May 2014 at 2:08 pm Reply

    Oh, wow, never even heard of them before. The things I learn from you, Saucy! But, the flour is kept raw?

  18. lapetitepaniere 31 May 2014 at 3:15 pm Reply

    Saucy, It’s new for me and it’s look yummy, tender and delicious. The pictures are stunning. Enjoy the World Cup 😀

  19. Gather and Graze 31 May 2014 at 11:43 pm Reply

    Yum! Fantastic little treats Saucy! They sound like World Cup winners to me! 😉

  20. Selma's Table 1 June 2014 at 8:45 am Reply

    Fabulous – these look like they would make the perfect after dinner treat with a shot of decaf espresso…

  21. lemongrovecakediaries 1 June 2014 at 9:57 am Reply

    Yum! My pantry is the same I can never find a damn peanut when I want them plenty of other nuts just no peanuts 🙂

  22. birgerbird 1 June 2014 at 10:42 am Reply

    Looking good here. How can you not have a delicious result with cashews and nutella? I guess I will have to make these and find out!

  23. breakfastdramaqueen 1 June 2014 at 12:38 pm Reply

    These look delicious! I love Nutella!

  24. Michelle 1 June 2014 at 11:31 pm Reply

    I’ll skip the football, but the candies look grand!

  25. Chris @ Shared Appetite 2 June 2014 at 12:11 am Reply

    Wow this sounds amazing!!! Making me drool over here!

  26. spiceinthecity 2 June 2014 at 2:59 am Reply

    These look divine Saucy! Yum yum!

  27. Coffee and Crumpets 2 June 2014 at 7:20 am Reply

    These look incredible! And so easy too! We don’t as much World Cup craziness here because it’s the US, and they’re not that into it. I am all waiting for it.! Wearing my England shirt and everything 🙂

    • saucygander 11 June 2014 at 1:40 am Reply

      Haha, you go Nazneen! Since Australia is playing this year, we all have World Cup fever – people are even staying up all night to watch the games, which is super-dedicated! 🙂

  28. Kaila511 2 June 2014 at 8:31 am Reply

    These look delicious! It’s amazing what you can make with such few and simple ingredients. 🙂

    • saucygander 11 June 2014 at 1:39 am Reply

      It is amazing, isn’t it, what a few simple ingredients can create. The original recipe is great too, with a crumbly peanut-dulce de leche combination.

  29. milkandbun 2 June 2014 at 7:06 pm Reply

    These look so tasty! I’m drinking tea now and I’d like to have some of your candies..

  30. lapetitecasserole 3 June 2014 at 7:36 am Reply

    Another great recipe Saucy! I’ve just finished my dinner, according to the Italian jet leg, and I’d die for one of those candies!

    • saucygander 11 June 2014 at 1:36 am Reply

      These candies are great post-dinner, with a cup of strong coffee! (Though maybe not so good for getting over jet lag…)

  31. indusinternationalkitchen 3 June 2014 at 11:51 am Reply

    oh my goodness these look absolutely delightful! I so very much want to try them…just now! 🙂 I have never worked with tapioca flour before but need to find it now! 🙂

    • saucygander 11 June 2014 at 1:36 am Reply

      Thanks Indu, I hope you do try them. I’ve never used tapioca flour before either, but now I have a bag in the pantry so will need to find other recipes, haha! 🙂

      • indusinternationalkitchen 11 June 2014 at 12:46 pm

        yes I am sure you will come up with some great new recipes with that! 🙂

  32. Mary Frances 4 June 2014 at 8:08 am Reply

    The fever is definitely here- I’ve been seeing posters on all the bar/restaurant/ store windows around town. These sound so interesting!

    • saucygander 11 June 2014 at 1:33 am Reply

      Thank you, Mary. Ahh yes, we are all about World Cup here since Australia is in the game this year, even though I’m not a mad soccer fan I’ve learned a lot about this sport!

  33. tinywhitecottage 5 June 2014 at 7:16 am Reply

    Man! These looks fantastic. How dreamy to bite into one of these tender sweets. Yum.

    • saucygander 11 June 2014 at 1:32 am Reply

      These were gone pretty quickly….oops! But the World Cup is still happening so there’s reason to make more. 🙂

  34. Tea with Erika 15 June 2014 at 2:27 pm Reply

    I love paçoca! Bet I’m gonna love your version too 🙂

Penny for your thoughts?

